President’s Report – July 2022

27th July

We celebrated our championship match last Sunday at La Serena with 70 brave souls—some would say braving the tortuous humidity. As usual we must thank the organisers of the day: Camillus, Terry, and Philip. José in the pro shop: muchos gracais. Vanessa and all the crew in the restaurant looking after our hungry and thirsty members and guests. Miguel the head green-keeper and the course and maintenance staff gracias, every day the improvements can be clearly witnessed. To Logan Nayager, our captain, thank you, and I hope your moving home is nearing completion. You now have a panoramic view of the course.


There have been six competitions since I last reported. All the results can be found on our ‘Latest Competitions’ page.

The Club Championship

The 25 members who won points, together with the current leader board, can be found on our Club Championship page.

The gross was won by Mike Stott with 30. The runner-up was Fred Beel with 39 and the winner on the day Colin Fleming with 39.

  • NTPs: Tony Burns, Gordon Montgomery, Mike Stott, Terry Lambert, Stuart Bulling and John O’Brien,
  • Cat III Savi Nayager 39, Michael Doyle 38 and Michael Parry 37,
  • Cat II Peter Dunne 39, Keith Groom 37 and Pat McLaughlin,
  • Cat I Charles Alan Campbell 37, Terence Fitzgerald 36 and Pavla Serakova 34.

We had to apply a 2-point penalty for slow play to a group who had lost more than two holes. Also we had a disqualification regarding an error with the app. Please make sure that you return the correct score, as you may incur a penalty.